jump to navigation

Weight is NOT the Issue! March 24, 2010

Posted by franciecooper in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Since I started this month’s exploration into the world of food, I’ve discovered so many interesting books! For instance, I was leafing through the April issue of “O – The Oprah Magazine” this morning, quietly in search of inspiration, when I ran across an article about a new book, Women, Food and God, by Geneen Roth.

Here’s just a little taste (pun intended) of what I read:

“The promise of a diet is not only that you will have a different body; it is that in having a different body, you will have a different life.”

This simple sentence struck me as very true, very timely. How many clients and friends do I have who believe this to their very souls? I often hear the lament: “If I can just lose 5 pounds (or 10, 20, or 50), I’ll find someone who loves me, I’ll have perfect children, a successful career, and a peaceful life.”

Folks, I hate to break it to you, but that’s just not true. In fact, it’s an insidious misconception in our culture, particularly among women. And, it’s propagated every day by magazines featuring emaciated models, radio and television ads for crazy new diets, and tv shows based on weight loss.

C’mon, friends, we’re smart! We can bring this madness to a screeching halt! How? According to Roth, we need to change our own mindsets first. Rather than punishing the body, in order to invoke long-lasting change, we must treat it with kindness. “Not fight it. Not force it. Not deprive it. Not shame it. Not do anything but accept and…understand it.”

If this concept appeals to you, I invite you to read more about it.

I also encourage you to take these steps for just one month:

  • Change the channel when the “fat” TV shows come on, as lurid and tempting as they may be;
  • Buy interesting, thought-provoking magazines instead of the tabloids calling to you from the checkout line; and
  • Eat healthy, whole food rather than diet products. Learn what “food” is (and isn’t!) in this NPR interview with In Defense of Food author, Michael Pollan.

Soon, very soon, the publishers, owners and sponsors will get the message that their products are not the way we want to live our lives.

Comments»

1. Geneen Roth - March 25, 2010

Hello, Francie,

I am so glad to hear you found the interview in O Magazine to be helpful and inspiring. I am very proud of my work in Women, Food, and God. The most radical part of my own story is not that I stopped dieting; it’s that I stopped trying to fix myself. I stopped fighting with myself, stopped blaming myself, my mother, my latest boyfriend for my weight. And since diets were my most flagrant attempt at fixing myself, I stopped them as well. I encourage others to do the same and start to really live! Thanks again for sharing your thoughts with your readers about this work.

Geneen Roth

franciecooper - March 26, 2010

What a suprise and pleasure to hear from you, Ms. Roth! I love your work and honor your journey. I see clients every day who don’t think they’re enough, good enough, as they are. Thank you for your contribution to sanity!


Leave a Reply

