jump to navigation

Introducing SpiritSparks™! September 7, 2010

Posted by franciecooper in life coaching, life lessons, Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I’m starting a new project this month called SpiritSparks™. I’ve noticed lately our almost universal desire to have a direct connection to God, Spirit, the Universe, however you refer to your Higher Power. We pray and desperately look and listen for answers to our pleas for direction, clarity, healing, etc. While a few people actually do get direct instructions, most of us still seek the burning bush. Truthfully, I don’t ever get a whole blaze, but I do see sparks from time to time.

Today I begin a new exploration into moments of coincidence, synchronicity, answered prayer, or simply the experience of, “Holy cow, did you see that?” with a new project I’m calling SpiritSparks.

What “sparked” this idea was the spiral map I wrote about last week that prompted me to look at unskilled choices I’d made in the past. If we extrapolate that idea into a full Life Map, we can see not only unskilled choices, but also times when we experienced hints, or SpiritSparks, and headed in a new direction, made a spur of the moment decision or had a had life-changing encounter.

One that sticks out clearly in my mind is how I became a Life Coach. It wasn’t a coincidence or gentle SpiritSpark for me. It was more like a two-by-four to the side of the head. In 1997, I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis. Needless to say, I was frightened beyond measure and didn’t know where to turn for help. So, I went to church, knelt in a pew and prayed for guidance. Then I sat in the pew and cried. Then, strangely enough, I fell asleep. When I woke up, I had an extraordinary sense of peace – and I knew I had to go to a bookstore. Weird, right?

Fast forward a few hours. At the nearest Borders, I was drawn to the section on alternative healthcare and a book almost jumped off the shelf to me. It was “Why People Don’t Heal and How They Can” by Carolyn Myss. What I learned was that, according to Myss, auto-immune disease is linked to our connection, or lack of connection, to Spirit.

That was the beginning of my new path. I found a new church, a new way to see God as loving rather than fear-based. A few months later, I read an article written by Martha Beck, the world’s most famous Life Coach. Her bio for that article introduced me to a profession called Life Coaching, which I fell in love with. And the rest, as they say, is history.

The point of this self-indulgent tale is to point out how an incident can appear devastating at first, like my MS diagnosis, and can really be a SpiritSpark – an incident that ultimately led me to a whole new life path.

I have lots of other stories, but I mostly would love to hear about your SpiritSparks.

They can be funny, quirky things that happen, or serious, life-threatening incidents. Maybe you’ve had a special butterfly in your garden, a curious conversation with a stranger, a found item, a still small voice or some bizarre coincidence. No story is too small or too weird!

Let SpiritSparks fly!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

