jump to navigation

Taco, Burrito, Rice and Beans January 11, 2011

Posted by franciecooper in life coaching, life lessons, Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback
When I’m making decisions about work – how to ideally use my gifts and talents – I also like to think about my temperament and personality. As an extrovert, I gain a lot of energy being around people, so coaching others fits me beautifully. But, when I’m writing, this newsletter for example, I prefer silence – no music, no interruptions – just me and my computer. I try to balance those two needs by scheduling writing time in my quiet home office, and then venturing out into the world to see clients and colleagues in my business office.
 
This week, I invite you to consider your temperament and personality as they affect your work. What type of rhythm or schedule do you prefer – one that’s flexible or one that’s structured? Do you want to be around a lot of people or do you prefer quiet? What do you value most – flexibility, free time, variety, predictability or security? Or, are you like me, a combo – one taco, one burrito, rice and beans, please.
 
What kind of work-life do you really want to have?
 
Let’s take a look at the traditional model first. Do you like the idea of going to and leaving work at the same time every day? This model often offers the benefits of security, paid vacation, insurance and sick leave. In this model you are frequently given a specific assignment, told how to do it and there are expectations of when it should be completed. Does this sense of security, certainty and direction appeal to you?
 
In the entrepreneurial or self-employment model, the individual sets his or her own schedule. This means identifying every day what you’re going to work on, when and how. The deadline is often your own, unless it’s imposed by a client. You have no one else paying your insurance, no paid vacation or sick leave. You do have a tremendous amount of freedom. Security, however, can be elusive.
 
Which of these models appeals to you? If you say, “I like both,” is there a way to combine them? Perhaps you could get a part-time job with benefits along with different part-time, self-directed work? It’s easy to get trapped in black or white thinking – “I have to do one or the other. I can’t do both.” But, I contend that in work, just as in life, there can be many, many shades of gray.
 
If you’re considering a new job, but you’re not sure what you want to do, you might want to pick up a copy of Barbara Sher’s book, I Could Do Anything If I Only Knew What it Was.
 
If you’re considering working for yourself, I highly recommend picking up a copy of Barbara Winter’s book, Making a Living Without a Job.
 
Don’t forget, you can also give me a call for personal coaching on this topic and/or listen to more thoughts on the latest TapaPalapa podcast.
 

– Francie Cooper

Comments»

1. Tweets that mention Taco, Burrito, Rice and Beans « SuperCoach -- Topsy.com - January 11, 2011

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Cassandra DeLorenzo. Cassandra DeLorenzo said: RT @franciecooper: Taco, Burrito, Rice and Beans: http://t.co/YJpw08W […]


Leave a Reply

