jump to navigation

It’s a Bigger World than Me! March 2, 2011

Posted by franciecooper in life coaching, life lessons.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback
 “No man is an island, entire of itself; every man is a piece of the continent, a part of the main…” 
– John Donne
 
Confession time.  I took the day off yesterday.  It was my birthday and I just decided, what the heck, I’m going to take a mental health day.  I used to let my sons take one from time to time when they were stressed out, and I promote it with my clients because I think it can ultimately make them more productive.  So, I followed my own advice and gave myself a break. Truthfully, I feel better for having done it.   I’m motivated again today to tackle the myriad tasks of the self-employed Life Coach.
 
That being said, this month my intention is to focus on the Greater Good – the fact that it’s a bigger world than me.  In other words, I feel a responsibility to reach beyond my home and personal life in Fort Worth, Texas, to be a good citizen and do what I can to help make the world a better place. (I assure you, the irony of my taking a “me” day during Greater Good month is not lost on me.)
 
But why bother?  Here are a few less-than-altruistic reasons I came up with and I encourage you to add your own thoughts and reasons to this list:
 
1) Volunteers usually enjoy themselves while giving to others.  Positive psychology studies show that volunteers have greater life satisfaction.  Other solid research indicates volunteers live longer, are in better health, have lower rates of depression and less heart disease. Wow!
 
2) Volunteering offers a sense of purpose and meaning in our lives.  Contributing to others fulfills a critical need for our own self-expression in the world.
 
3) Many people volunteer to gain valuable new experience in a certain field and pay their dues for developing expertise and career advancement opportunities.
 
So, what’s stopping you?  In this big ol’ world, surely there’s someone or some cause you can support by giving part of your time.  Identify one.  Pick up the phone or shoot them an email to find out how you can be involved.  Let me know what you decide.  Maybe I can join you and together we can multiply the ripple effect thousand-fold!
 

Until next week,

Life Coach Francie Cooper
 
P.S.  Don’t forget that my TapaPalapa podcast with fellow Coach Steve Coxsey is now on itunes too!  You can now find us either way.  Just click on one of these links!
Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

